Call for Papers

DBSec is an annual international conference covering research in data and applications security and privacy. The 33rd Annual IFIP WG 11.3 Working Conference on Data and Applications Security and Privacy (DBSec 2019) will be held in Charleston, SC, USA.

Topics of interest include,but are not limited to:

access control knowledge discovery and privacy security and privacy in the Internet of Things
anonymity methodologies for data and application security security and privacy in location-based services
applied cryptography in data security network security security and privacy in P2P scenarios and social networks
authentication organisational and social aspects of security security and privacy in pervasive/ubiquitous computing
big data security privacy security and privacy policies
data and system integrity secure cloud computing security management and audit
data protection secure distributed systems security metrics
database security secure information integration threats, vulnerabilities, and risk management
digital rights management security and privacy in crowdsourcing trust and reputation systems
identity management distributed and decentralised security trust management
intrusion detection web security wireless and mobile security

Paper Submissions

Submitted papers should be at most 16 pages in the LNCS format excluding bibliography and well-marked appendices, and at most 20 pages in total (author instructions can be found here). Committee members are not required to read the appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions are to be made to the submission web site at . All submissions must be written in English, and only PDF files will be accepted (a Latex source file will be required for the final version of the accepted papers). The final version of the accepted papers must be in the format required for publications in the LNCS series. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Papers must be received by the deadline of March 1, 2019 March 13, 2019 (11:59 PM American Samoa Time). A paper submitted to DBSec 2019 cannot be under review for any other conference or journal during the time it is being considered for DBSec 2019. Furthermore, after you submit to DBSec 2019, you must await our response before submitting elsewhere. If you submit your paper to another conference or journal either before/after submission of the paper to DBSec 2019, we will reject your paper without review and will notify the other conference/journal as well. This restriction applies to identical as well as to substantially similar papers.

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the conference. Accepted papers will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

IFIP author code of conduct:

Click here

IFIP referee code of conduct:

Click here

Important dates

Paper Submission due: March 1, 2019 March 13, 2019 - 11:59 PM American Samoa Time
Notification to authors: April 15, 2019
Final papers due: April 27, 2019

General Chairs:

Csilla FarkasUniversity of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA
Mark DanielsMedical University of South Carolina, Charleston SC, USA.

Program Chairs:

Simon Foley Rennes, France

Publicity Chair:

--- ---

Program Committee

Vijay Atluri (Rutgers University)
Frederic Cuppens (IMT Atlantique)
Nora Cuppens-Boulahia (IMT Atlantique)
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati (University of Milan)
Giovanni Di Crescenzo (Perspecta Labs)
Wenliang Du (Syracuse University)
Sara Foresti (Universita degli Studi di Milano)
Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro (Telecom SudParis)
Stefanos Gritzalis (University of the Aegean)
Ehud Gudes (Ben-Gurion University)
Yuan Hong (Illinois Institute of Technology)
Sokratis Katsikas (Center for Cyber and Information Security, NTNU)
Florian Kerschbaum (University of Waterloo)
Barbara Fila (INSA Rennes, IRISA)
Adam J. Lee (University of Pittsburgh)
Yingjiu Li (Singapore Management University)
Giovanni Livraga (University of Milan)
Javier Lopez (University of Malaga)
Brad Malin (Vanderbilt University)
Fabio Martinelli (IIT-CNR)
Sjouke Mauw (University of Luxembourg)
Catherine Meadows (NRL)
Charles Morisset (Newcastle University)
Martin Olivier (University of Pretoria)
Stefano Paraboschi (Universita di Bergamo)
Gunther Pernul (Universitat Regensburg)
Andreas Peter (University of Twente)
Silvio Ranise (Fondazione Bruno Kessler)
Indrajit Ray (Colorado State University)
Kui Ren (State University of New York at Buffalo)
Pierangela Samarati (University of Milan)
Andreas Schaad (WIBU-Systems)
Scott Stoller (Stony Brook University)
Tamir Tassa (The Open University of Israel)
Mahesh Tripunitara (University of Waterloo)
Jaideep Vaidya (Rutgers University)
Vijay Varadharajan (The University of Newcastle)
Wendy Hui Wang (Stevens Institute of Technology)
Lingyu Wang Concordia University
Attila A Yavuz (University of South Florida)
Ting Yu (Qatar Computing Research Institute)
Nicola Zannon (Eindhoven University of Technology)